902 Canada Year Book 1978-79

National Arts Centre Corporation. The act establishing the corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) received assent in July 1966. The corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the director of the Canada Council, the president of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the government film commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms ranged from two to four years. The objects of the corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the capital region and to assist the Canada Council in development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada. The corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

National Battlefields Commission. This commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to acquire, restore and maintain the historic battlefields at Quebec City to form a National Battlefields Park. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the minister of Indian affairs and northern development.

National Capital Commission. This commission, successor to the Federal District Commission, is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3), proclaimed February 6, 1959. Headed by a chairman, it is made up of 20 members, representing the 10 provinces and the capital region.

The commission is responsible for acquisition, development and maintenance of public land in the capital region; it co-operates with municipalities by providing planning aid or financial assistance in municipal projects of benefit to the region; and it advises the public works department on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 4662 km² capital region. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of state for urban affairs.

National Council of Welfare. The council is an advisory body of 21 private citizens, drawn.from across Canada and appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its members include past and present welfare recipients, public housing tenants and other low-income citizens, as well as lawyers, professors, social workers and others involved in voluntary service associations, private welfare agencies and social work education. The council advises the minister of national health and welfare on matters related to welfare. The office of the council carries out research and other support activities for the council.

National Design Council. The council was established by an act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The council makes recommendations on design policies and programs. Design Canada (industry, trade and commerce), serves as the administrative arm of the council. Policies and programs recommended by the council are implemented by departments and agencies of the federal government, regional governments and other private and institutional bodies. The council has 17 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and reports through its chairman to the minister of industry, trade and commerce.

National Emergency Planning Establishment (Emergency Planning Canada). In April 1974, Canada Emergency Measures Organization (EMO), the federal co-ordinating agency for civil emergency planning, became the National Emergency Planning Establishment, commonly known since 1975 as Emergency Planning Canada (EPC). EMO was originally created to initiate and co-ordinate the civil aspects of defence policy delegated to federal departments and agencies to meet the threat of nuclear war.

Emergency Planning Canada has an extended role to co-ordinate and assist planning to ensure that the federal government is ready to meet the effects of natural or man-made disasters. Such planning is part of the normal responsibilities of federal government departments, Crown corporations and agencies. An EPC regional director in each provincial capital maintains contact with other federal departments and with provincial and municipal governments.

EPC promotes emergency preparedness of the federal government and encourages other levels of government to plan by providing grants for approved emergency planning projects; making arrangements for federal assistance to provinces to offset costs resulting from emergencies; sponsoring courses for representatives from the public and private sectors; and conducting an information and research program.

Civil emergency preparedness extends beyond the borders of Canada to nations abroad, including the US and NATO countries. The director general of emergency planning represents Canada on NATO committees for senior civil emergency planning and civil defence. Although attached for purposes of administration to the defence department, the agency receives functional direction from the Privy Council Office.

National Energy Board. This board was established under the National Energy Board Act, 1959 (RSC 1970, c.N-6) to assure the best use of energy resources in Canada. The board, composed of nine members, is responsible for regulating the construction and operation of oil and gas pipelines that are under the jurisdiction of Parliament, the tolls charged for transmission by oil and gas pipelines, the export and import of gas and oil, the export of electric power, and the construction of the lines over which power is exported